Theater Piece n ° 1

"Theater Piece No. 1 was one of Cage's first large-scale collaborative multimedia performances that were created and performed during class at Black Mountain College in North Carolina.

 

The play was called "The Event" by many and included several simultaneous performance components - all orchestrated by Cage, with chance playing a crucial role in the course of the performance. Some of the components in "The Event" were: readings, music, dance, slide projections, film and four panels from Robert Rauschenberg's White Paintings (1951), which were hung in the form of a cross on the ceiling, Cage sat on a step ladder and gave lectures on Buddhism or said nothing, and MC Richards and Charles Olson read various poems on ladders while Rauschenberg played Edith Piaf.

 

Merce Cunningham danced in the audience (chased by a barking dog), coffee was served by four boys in white, and David Tudor played and improvised notes on a prepared piano, with pieces of cloth and wood between the strings. Cage composed the piece in such a way that each participant did what he wanted at fixed intervals and within certain parameters, but the overriding random principle determined the course of events.

 

The multimedia properties of No. 1 are a wonderful example of the Neo-Dada movement and its inclusion of everyday life in modern art. This early happening shaped later developments in modern art, in particular the increasing focus on the outside world, as evidenced by later movements such as Fluxus, Minimalism and Conceptualism, as well as performance art in general. " (Link to source)

Reenactment: During workshops of several weeks as part of the X-Mountain project in Berlin, the artists Be van Vark, Sven Seeger and Alexandre Decaupigny adapted Cage's famous work with a group of performers in an inflatable, white, balloon-like installation room of the Raumlabor Berlin.

 

Directed by Be van Vark, Sven Seeger

Actors: Sonya Noya, Sophie Wirth, Florian Hoffmeier, Franziska M.

Sound / Music: Alexandre Decaupigny

Stage Be van Vark & ​​Raumlabor Berlin

Photography: Aris Kallidromitis

Produced and funded by: S27 - Art & Education, COOP-Campus Berlin, Projektfond Kulturelle Bildung Berlin

Berlin, Germany, 2017

Theatre Piece n°1

„Theatre Piece No. 1 war eine von Cages ersten gemeinsamen Multimedia-Performances in großem Maßstab, die während des Unterrichts am Black Mountain College in North Carolina entstanden und aufgeführt wurden.

 

Das Stück wurde von vielen als“ The Event „bezeichnet und beinhaltete mehrere gleichzeitige Aufführungs-Komponenten – alle von Cage orchestriert, wobei der Zufall im Verlauf der Aufführung eine entscheidende Rolle spielte. Einige der Komponenten in „The Event“ waren: Lesungen, Musik, Tanz, Diaprojektionen, Film und vier Panele von Robert Rauschenbergs White Paintings (1951), die in Form eines Kreuzes an der Decke hingen, Cage saß auf einer Trittleiter und hielt Vorträge über den Buddhismus oder sagte nichts, und MC Richards und Charles Olson lasen verschiedene Gedichte auf Leitern, während Rauschenberg Edith Piaf spielte.

Merce Cunningham tanzte im Publikum (verfolgt von einem bellenden Hund), Kaffee wurde von vier Jungen in Weiß serviert, und David Tudor spielte und improvisierte Noten auf einer vorbereiteten Klavier, mit Filz- und Holzstücken zwischen den Saiten. Cage komponierte das Stück so, dass jeder Teilnehmer in festgelegten Zeitabständen und innerhalb bestimmter Parameter das tat, was er wollte, aber das übergeordnete Zufallsprinzip bestimmte den Ablauf der Ereignisse.

 

Die multimedialen Eigenschaften von Nr. 1 sind ein wunderbares Beispiel für die Neo-Dada-Bewegung und ihre Einbeziehung des Alltags in die moderne Kunst. Dieses frühe Happening prägte spätere Entwicklungen in der modernen Kunst, insbesondere die zunehmende Konzentration auf die Außenwelt, wie spätere Bewegungen wie Fluxus, Minimalismus und Konzeptualismus sowie die Performance-Kunst im Allgemeinen belegen. “ (Link zur Quelle)

Reenactment: Während mehrwöchiger Workshops im Rahmen des X-Mountain-Projekts in Berlin adaptierten die Künstler Be van Vark, Sven Seeger und Alexandre Decaupigny Cage’s berühmtes Werk mit einer Gruppe von Darstellern in einem aufblasbaren, weißen, ballonartigen Installationsraum des Raumlabor Berlin. 

Regie: Be van Vark, Sven Seeger

Darsteller: Sonya Noya, Sophie Wirth, Florian Hoffmeier, Franziska M.

Sound / Musik: Alexandre Decaupigny

Bühne Be van Vark & Raumlabor Berlin

Fotografie: Aris Kallidromitis

Produziert & gefördert von: S27 – Art & Education, COOP-Campus Berlin, Projektfond Kulturelle Bildung Berlin

Berlin, Deutschland, 2017